Jayoti Vidyapeeth Women's University, Jaipur Faculty of Education and Methodology

Program Structure Outlines for Bachelor of Arts (B.A Hons) Political Science

Duration 03 Years (Six Semester)

<u>Course Details of First Semester</u> Compulsory (Language) 50 Marks

Honours Subject- Political Science(100 Marks)

Paper I: Foundations of Political Science I Paper II: Indian Government & Politics I

First Subsidiary (50 Marks) Second Subsidiary (50 Marks)

Compulsory (Language) 50 Marks

Course Details of Second Semester

Honours Subject- Political Science (100 Marks)

Paper III: Foundations of Political Science II

Paper IV: Indian Government & Politics II

First Subsidiary (50 Marks) Second Subsidiary (50 Marks)

Compulsory (Language) 50 Marks

Course Details of Third Semester

Honours Subject- Political Science (100 Marks)

Paper V: Representatives Political Thinkers-1 Paper VI World Constitution

First Subsidiary (50 Marks) Second Subsidiary (50 Marks) **Course Details of Fourth Semester**

Honours Subject- Political Science(100 Marks)

Paper VII: Representative Political Thinkers-II

Paper VIII: Political Ideologies

First Subsidiary (50 Marks) Second Subsidiary (50 Marks)

Compulsory (Language) 50 Marks

Course Details of Fifth Semester

Honours Subject- Political Science (250 Mortes)

Marks)

Paper IX: Comparative Government &Politics

Paper X: Western Political Thinkers Paper XI: International Relations Paper XII: International Politics

General Studies I

Course Details of Sixth Semester

Honours Subject- Political Science (250

Marks)

Paper XIII: Political Process in India

Paper XIV: Governance and Public Policy in

India

Paper XV: India's Foreign Policy Paper XVI: Governance in India

General Studies II

Graduating marks for the division

On securing 60 percent in Honours subject only – First Class Minimum 45 percent in Honours subject only – Second class Less than 45 percent in Honours subject – Dishonour (F)

It is mandatory to select one paper in third year as the special paper among the Honours Paper. In these three years BA (Hons) Program, stress should be given on the development of theories and ideas of the Political Science. As such sixty percent questions will be from direct application of syllabus and remaining forty percent questions may be asked from the programme and policies of government related to the syllabus.

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-I Foundations of Political Science I

Objectives:

Unit-1 Political Science

Meaning , definition, scope ,features ,nature of Political Science .(Traditional and Modern Political Science).Relations of Political Science with other subjects. Behaviouralist & Post Behaviouralism .

Unit-2 State & Theories

Meaning & Definition of the State , Elements of the State, Theories of the origin of the state , Functions of the state (Socialist & Liberal).

Sovereignty : Meaning, definitions, kinds, aspects, Austin theory of sovereignty, Concept of Pluralism.

Unit-3 Concepts

Rights, Liberty, Equality, Rights, Justice, Property, Law, Power, Authority, Legitimacy, Citizenship

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-I Indian Government & Politics -I

Unit-1 Constitution

Making of Indian Constitution, Preamble, Features of Indian Constitution, Fundamental Rights, Directive Principles of State and Fundamental Duties, Judicial Review and Basic Structure doctrine. Amendment Procedure Amendments.

Unit-2 Union Executive

Union Executive: President, Prime Minister, Vice President, Council of Minister, Legislature: Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, Speaker, (composition, powers & functions, role). Process of Legislature

Unit-3 State Executive

State Executive: Governor, Chief Minister, Council of Minister, Legislature: Vidhan Parishad, Vidhan Sabha, Speaker, (composition powers & functions, role. Process of Legislature

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-II Political Science II

Unit-1 Theories

System theory, Structural –Functional Theory, Game Theory, Decision Making Theory, Elite Theory, Rational Choice Theory .Concepts of Democracy :Kinds Theories & Models (Representative ,Participatory ,Deliberative)of Democracy .

Unit-2 Organisation & Forms of Government

Separation of Power ,Checks and Balance ,Executive , Legislature ,Judiciary :Meaning, kinds, functions, importance .Bureaucracy , Parliamentary System, Presidential System, Unitary & Federal System.

Unit-3 Political Sociology

Political Development & Decay, Political Modernisation, Political Culture & Political Socialisation. Party System & Political Parties, Pressure Groups & Public Opinion.

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-II Indian Government & Politics II

Unit-1Judiciary

1. Supreme Court, High Court(Organisation, Power & Functions), Judicial Review, Judicial Activism, Public Interest Litigation. Statutory Institutions/Commissions: Election Commission, Comptroller and Auditor General, Finance Commission, Union Public Service Commission, National Commission for Scheduled Castes, National Commission for Scheduled Tribes, National Commission for Women; National Human Rights Commission, National Commission for Minorities, National Backward Classes Commission.

Unit-2 Federalism

1. Constitutional provisions; changing nature of Centre state Relations , inter-state disputes, Grassroots Democracy : Panchayati Raj and Municipal Government; Significance of 73rd and 74th Amendments.

Unit-3 Party System

1. National and regional political parties, ideological and social bases of parties; Patterns of coalition politics; Pressure groups, trends in electoral behaviour; Caste, Religion and Ethnicity in Indian Politics.

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-III Representative Indian Political Thinkers I

Unit-1 Ancient Political Thought

Manu, Kautilya, Traditions of Non – Violence in Buddhism & Jainism

Unit-2 Reformers

Raja Ram Mohan Roy , Swami Dayanand Saraswati ,Swami Vivekanand ,Sir Sayyed Ahamed Khan .

Unit-3 Nationalist

Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Gopal Krishan Gokhale, Dada Bhai Naroji, Rama Swamy Naicker.

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-III

World Constitution

Unit-1 Constitution

UK Constitution & USA Constitution

Unit-2

Japan Constitution & China Constitution

Unit-3

Switzerland Constitution, France Constitution.

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Political Science SEMESTER-IV Representatives Indian Political Thinkers -II

Unit-1

Rama Swamy Naicker ,Lala Lajpat Rai ,Aurobindo Ghosh , VD Savarkar

Unit-2

Gandhi ,Jawahar Lal Nehru ,B.R Ambedkar

Unit-3

Jai Prakash Narayan , MN Roy, Ram Manohar Lohiya

Syllabus for B.A. (Hons.), Ideologies Political Science SEMESTER-IV

Unit-1

Capitalism, Fascism, Idealism

Unit-2

Scientific Socialism , Communism , Marxism

Unit-3

Liberalism (Positive & Negative) Gandhism, Feminism